Laumeier Sculpture Park

August 1, 2011

I was going to simply write an entry saying that the Walking Dead entry was forthcoming, but that is too lame. So, instead I’ll talk briefly about my trip to Laumeier Sculpture Park. The place has a really well done website, which reflects the well laid out park. How well done you ask? Why, so well done that all of the artwork is cataloged and photographed! See it for yourself here.

However, as anyone who has been to an art museum before knows: seeing a photo is no replacement for seeing the work in person. This particularly applies for sculpture. The photos give no sense of the scale of the pieces. The feeling of the artwork overshadowing you or you interacting with the artwork is amazing. I really liked walking through this one, which is right next to a sculpture of tree roots above ground. The roots seem to be walking, which is creepy and fascinating. I could go on, but I will leave you with the idea that you should go out and experience some sculpture.

2 Responses to “Laumeier Sculpture Park”

  1. Katelyn said

    I really think Laumeier is one of the coolest things in St Louis. I’ve been to art museums all over the place and the only thing that comes slightly close is the sculpture garden attached to the Des Moines Art Center, which is much smaller.

    • logisticalmiasma said

      I totally agree. I am really into Niki de Saint Phalle’s sculpture, and I starting reading up on her a bit. Turns out she decided to make a huge outdoor sculpture park called Giardino dei Tarocchi (The Tarot Garden) in Tuscany. She based it off of a previous sculpture park in Barcelona by Gaudí, called Parc Güell. Some great photos of the parks can be found at here and here.

      There is some hope for us Americans, as Niki has a sculpture park in California called Queen Califia’s Magical Garden. There are some really neat photos of that here. I would absolutely love to visit any of these parks. I think they would outshine Laumeier. Although Laumeier does have the benefit of showcasing works by many different artists, whereas these parks are all by one person.

Leave a Reply

